Ravens 2000 Super Bowl team will be featured in ESPN documentary

Ravens, Ray Lewis (Photo by KMazur/WireImage)
Ravens, Ray Lewis (Photo by KMazur/WireImage) /

It’s only fitting that one of the greatest defenses in the history of the NFL gets a documentary. The Baltimore Ravens 2000 Super Bowl-winning squad will be the subject of ESPN’s upcoming 30 for 30 series, which traces the story of a truly legendary team.

The 2000 Ravens defined their own era in football, one marked by defensive excellence and fierce bravado.

Baltimore won its first Super Bowl that year with a crushing 34-7 victory over the New York Giants in Super Bowl XXXV, but the championship was just the cherry on top of a historic season.

ESPN has reportedly started production for the 30 for 30 series and explained in a press release why the 2000 Ravens were chosen to be profiled.

The Ravens’ 2000 Super Bowl-winning team gets immortalized in ESPN series

In the 2000-2001 season, the Ravens’ defense set the record for the fewest points allowed during a 16-game season (165) and the fewest rushing yards ever allowed (970); the team also lead the league in turnovers (49), forced four shutouts, and allowed 16 total offensive touchdowns.

In their postseason run, the Ravens allowed just 16 points in four victories and, as fans fondly remember, thrashed the Giants in the championship with the help of Super Bowl MVP and NFL Defensive Player of the Year Ray Lewis.

Alongside Lewis, Peter Boulware and Jamie Sharper headed an elite linebacker corps, and the rest of the Ravens’ front seven included D-line heavyweights like Rob Burnett, Sam Adams, and Tony Siragusa.

Baltimore’s secondary locked down teams all season long with famed cornerbacks Chris McAlister and Duane Starks, who combined for 10 interceptions on the year.

The Ravens’ offense was admittedly lacking, but as the adage goes, defense wins championships.

dark. Next. 3 trap games the Ravens should be wary of in 2022

With some luck, the 2022 Ravens team may be able to achieve a similar level of defensive production this season, albeit against a modern era of quarterbacks in Josh Allen, Joe Burrow, and others.